Home
This will be arriving very soon
This will be arriving very soon

Sending Mail Art out to those Mail Artists I have started to connect with takes time and reflection.  I want to engage and motivate those mail artists to think about the project.  The project for me uses Trench Art to inspire new art, explore the idea of the souvenir, think about objects of remembrance and the narratives behind the objects – someone made this – keeps coming back to me.

Recording what I am sending is important. The nature of Mail Art is to potentially send your art work away forever.  I have found while making artwork to Mail/Post I begin to develop ideas for other work and multiples.  From the mail art I made below I developed a whole edition of artist’s books that incorporate and celebrate some of the exciting aspects of Mail Art.  I am really struck by the envelopes decoration, the idea that the envelope becomes part of the artwork and not just a carrier of art.  This envelope design becomes the pages of a book, objects of remembrance are hinted at and documented within the layers of the pages.

Printed envelopes
Printed envelopes
Envelope Books
Envelope Books
or book envelopes
or book envelopes

mail art2

Leave a Reply

