Home

Toasting right now Easton

On show as part of the London Design Festival , Toasting Right Now….. forms part of an exhibition,  Unfold – a celebration of contemporary artist books and book design 14th – 22nd September at London Print Studio.

A simple concertina style book, the folded pages are silk screen printed and encased in printed card.  The work forms part of a series of printed works, designed and made for the Newcastle Gateshead Art Fair in 2010.  Exhibiting alongside the Creative Cohesion Sunderland contingent, the fair attracted a mix of local, national and international visitors.  To accompany the book, I made a series of wall based prints and enamelled glass.

016

Mannequin II Silk Screen enamelled glass

Mannequin II Silk Screen enamelled glass

Mannequin  series of printed glass is currently available to buy from Globe Gallery, Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

7 thoughts on “Toasting right now…..

  1. Hi Theresa, I love these artist books! I’m a GP and writer working on a ‘words and images’ project with Anne Proctor in the anatomy labs at Newcastle Medical School. We’re hoping to create something together that will lead to an exhibition that promotes public engagement in medical education and possibly an artist’s book using Anne’s images and my words. I like these concertina books, they are really elegant and beautiful. Thanks for posting, Eliot

    • Hi Eliot
      thanks for the comment – what an amazing project! Good luck with it and keep me posted! Public engagement in medical education is vital – particularly at the minute with this ‘back door’ privatisation of the NHS. I am working on a book that celebrates the creation of the NHS and acts as a timeline for the changes it has undergone, it was inspired by the film ‘Spirit of 1945’. May take me a while to finish!
      thanks
      Theresa

  2. Oo that sounds an amazing for a book celebrating the NHS. I’ll take a look at that film too. I’ll definitely keep you posted on the work I’m doing with Anne and the anatomy team.
    All the best, Eliot

  3. Oo that sounds an amazing for a book celebrating the NHS. I’ll take a look at that film too. I’ll definitely keep you posted on the work I’m doing with Anne and the anatomy team.
    All the best, Eliot

  4. Oo that sounds an amazing for a book celebrating the NHS. I’ll take a look at that film too. I’ll definitely keep you posted on the work I’m doing with Anne and the anatomy team.
    All the best, Eliot

  5. Oo that sounds an amazing for a book celebrating the NHS. I’ll take a look at that film too. I’ll definitely keep you posted on the work I’m doing with Anne and the anatomy team.
    All the best, Eliot

Leave a Reply

